While I was away…

Posts haven’t been coming too frequently these days. I have a theory for that…

In the last year I have finished my master’s thesis. If you are really curious about Bridge Glacier, distributed energy balance modelling (and why ‘modelling’ is spelt with 2 ‘l’s), time-lapse camera geometry math, lots of broad assumptions, and some hand-waving at when we can expect the calving to stop being important, you can find it HERE! You can also email for the full thing if you really want to (or you can wait for the paper – which is coming shortly!).

Since I graduated, I spent some time in India and Nepal. Although there was no direct glacier research, I can assure you there were lots of pictures of glaciers, and lots of imagined work. Here is a picture of a glacier in the upper Langtang Valley.

Here's the Langtang Lirung Glacier as seen from near Yala Peak basecamp in the upper Langtang Valley.

Here’s the Langtang Lirung Glacier as seen from near Yala Peak basecamp in the upper Langtang Valley.

Once we were done with the glaciers, cold nights, and cold chowmein of northern India and Nepal (the food in *some of* India was to die for!), we headed south to Thailand to explore some more hydrologic features.

Beach at the southern tip of Koh Lanta

Beach at the southern tip of Koh Lanta

Once we were done “studying” the intricate hydrology of Singha and Chang, we headed back to Bangkok for some sight-seeing, where we were given a “King’s” welcome:

They laid out the welcome mats for us

They laid out the welcome mats for us

Since then, we’ve made the move east from Vancouver to Calgary, and rediscovered the glory of the Rockies:

Mount Temple on the hottest day of the summer

Mount Temple on the hottest day of the summer

While I’ve had lots of time for mountains this winter/spring/summer, I’ve also found lots of time professionally as a Hydrologist. I’m learning the ropes of various ins-and-outs and what-have-yous of the consulting world, and perfecting my analyses for projects from Industry, Government, and NGOs (please contract me for work).

Along the same lines, while I haven’t done much writing here, I’ve done lots of learning and writing (and a little bit of it online). I “learned” Rmarkdown, and wrote a little piece on making R work for you and scraping Environment Canada data from their online site.

What’s next?

You know what? I’m not sure. Hopefully, I will continue to use the site to post some small articles on mountains, glaciers, hydrology, and whatever else is on my mind. I promise no politics, and if in doubt, I will just post more nice pictures. Either way, I will try to maintain my mission from the beginning of my master’s: convince you that science is really cool. 

Leave a Reply

